Standing up on Mother’s Day

photo 1

As Mother’s Day draws closer I am overwhelmed by God’s peace. I feel as though He is pressing upon me to be hopeful. I keep thinking about Mathew 19:26 and Jesus’ own words saying, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” I have assurance that God can do all things. It is not impossible for me to become a mommy when God says its time. 

I also feel empowered. I feel encouraged to spread the word. I feel like its my responsibility to share the journey of infertility and child loss with people who haven’t experienced it. I feel strong enough to do this because there is a woman somewhere who isn’t and who will be hurting in silence this Mother’s Day. She may be sitting silently beside you at church, or standing in line in front of you at the store, or maybe she has stopped by the park to watch the little kids play. So many are suffering in silence because they are too ashamed to let you in.

I come to tell you we don’t have to suffer in silence any more. We didn’t ask for this, we didn’t do this to ourselves. It just so happens to be something we are going through. We can take comfort in the fact that With God all things are possible. He can do all things. He is also telling us come to me “for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” He wants to be the one and only we turn to. With God we can be real and authentic. We can open up our burdened and aching heart. But we can also leave it at the feet of Jesus and walk away free. Free in the knowledge that we are trusting our God to work out His plan. Free in the knowledge that nothing is happening that He hasn’t already determined. 

This Mother’s Day I am going to proudly stand up when they honor mothers. I am going to stand up for myself and for all women struggling with infertility, miscarriage, stillbirth, and infant loss. Let’s stand together sisters in faith, hope, and God’s grace!

4 thoughts on “Standing up on Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

